So why haven’t I been blogging?

There’s been so much to write, read, and do lately I have fallen out of the blogging habit. Must regain it. Chico is HOT this summer… hot and quiet. It’s still a fine town, very peacerul, and with delights like Bidwell Park. It is quite pleasant here in the 80s, even the 90s, but it gets difficult when it hits the three digits… the direct sun feels like hammer blows, and it is all exhausting. It appears that things will calm down in a couple weeks, and we will be back in the 80s and 90s for a while, looking forward to it. Everybody in town is talking about how this is the hottest summer in years. Lucky us, but the thing is this may be the way of the world right now, at least the way of the western U.S. I gather the east is also getting heat and bad storms. We will make it.

I am active with poetry writing, storytelling, and an article I’m doing on Bidwell Park. K and I just did a 6 day odyssey through NE California – spectacular, but hot, especially at the WHiskeytown National Recreation Area. The Mt. Shasta area and Burney Falls were a lot more pleasant. This area will demand some more exploration. Shasta is a spectacular mountain and region, and also the home to various New Age cults. One group believesthere is a city of several million under the mountain. These eight foot tall spirituallyelevated beings are survivors of a nuclear war between Lemuria and Atlantis. They periodically walk into town to shop and pay with lumps of gold, I am told. We weren’t lucky enough to meet any. I don’t know what we would have offered them for gold, a poem or story maybe, but I tried not to be so corruptable.

We like this town and area a lot, but are ready for cooler temperatures. Now that I remember I can blog fairly easily, I will get back to it, with day to day descriptions of life.

Mt. Shasta from Siskiyou Lake Trail

DSCN9460

About pelicanguy6

I'm an environmental educator and writer currently based in Oakland, California. I plan to include a hiking/nature journal on this blog, along with articles on environmental education, travel articles, poetry, and spontaneous thoughts. I am a passionate hiker and camper and a world traveler. I really enjoy cooking vegetarian feasts, and specialize in veggie German meals for Oktoberfest.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

